Meet the 2011 InnovAction Award Winners!

Written by  //  October 12, 2011  //  No comments

The College received a record number of entries for the 2011 InnovAction Awards and the judges ultimately selected three organizations to received the coveted InnovAction Award.

“We were thrilled with the number of quality entries we received under the new judging criteria,” said InnovAction Chair, Jordan Furlong. “There are some ground breaking initiatives taking place in the industry today.”

The 2011 InnovAction Award Winners

Berwin Leighton Paisner, LLP (BLP) was selected for their Lawyers On Demand (LOD) initiative.  LOD challenged the traditional models of legal service delivery and brought talented freelance lawyers to work directly with clients. LOD lawyers work at the client office or their home office but are nevertheless vetted and supported by BLP know-how resources, making the LOD service unique in the market.

The University of Toronto Faculty of Law was selected for its Internationally Trained Lawyers Program (ITLP). ITLP is a comprehensive 10-month program to help participants obtain their license and secure full-time professional employment.

The University of Miami School of Law in partnership with five other law schools received an InnovAction Award for their LawWithoutWalls initiative.  LawWithoutWalls is a part-virtual, collaborative academic model that unites students, faculty, practitioners, and entrepreneurs from around the world to innovate legal education and practice.

The Innovaction Awards were presented October 28, 2011, during the College’s Annual Meeting in Chicago, hosted by the IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law. Please click here for more information about the InnovAction Awards.

Leave a Comment

comm comm comm